Neon Gods pdf (Dark Olympus #1) Summary Reviews by Katee Robert 

Neon Gods pdf book (Dark Olympus, 1)is a romance novel by Katee Robert.

Neon Gods Summary

Society darling Persephone Dimitriou plans to flee the ultra-modern city of Olympus and start over far from the backstabbing politics of the Thirteen Houses. But all that’s ripped away when her mother ambushes her with an engagement to Zeus, the dangerous power behind their glittering city’s dark facade.

With no options left, Persephone flees to the forbidden undercity and makes a devil’s bargain with a man she once believed a myth…a man who awakens her to a world she never knew existed.

Hades has spent his life in the shadows, and he has no intention of stepping into the light. But when he finds that Persephone can offer a little slice of the revenge he’s spent years craving, it’s all the excuse he needs to help her—for a price. Yet every breathless night spent tangled together has given Hades a taste for Persephone, and he’ll go to war with Olympus itself to keep her close.

Neon Gods Review

READ

About Katee Robert Author of Neon Gods pdf Book

Katee Robert
Katee Robert

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. Her 2015 title, The Marriage Contract, was a RITA finalist, and RT Book Reviews named it ‘a compulsively readable book with just the right amount of suspense and tension.

She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, children, a cat who thinks he’s a dog, and two Great Danes who think they’re lap dogs.

” When not writing sexy contemporary and romantic suspense, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her children, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse

Neon Gods pdf, Paperback, Hardcover Book Information

Neon Gods pdf
Neon Gods pdf
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Sourcebooks Casablanca (June 1, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1728231736
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1728231730
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.7 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.5 x 0.96 x 8.25 inches
  • Best Sellers Rank: #1,479 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • #4 in Humorous Erotica (Books)
  • #6 in Fantasy Erotica
  • #9 in Paranormal Erotica (Books)
  • Customer Reviews: 4.3 out of 5 stars    10,374 ratings

Neon Gods Reviews (Amazon)

Amazon Customer

4.0 out of 5 stars I DNF’d It Due to POC writing
Reviewed in the United States on August 7, 2021

Verified Purchase

As the title suggests, I had to put this book down without finishing it. The plot was great, Hades and Persephone were fun, and the steamy scenes were great!

Unfortunately, the author was in the habit of poorly writing POC characters. I know this may not bother some people but this is the first time I’ve seen characters of color so blatantly thrown into a story just to give it diversity without any thought to how readers may perceive it. I understand that most characters described by the color of their skin are insignificant to the story but I found this too offensive to keep reading.

In case the author is reading this I would like to point out two reasons why I was taken back by her writing. First, off “black” is not a description of a person. Are they tall? Short? Have light brown skin? Medium? Is it rich in color or on the paler side? Using the word “black” as a descriptor is just *cringe*. Second, she upper cased the B in black. So she would write “the Black women”. This gives the impression being black is her title. For instance: Queen Elizabeth, Duke of ______, etc. Black isn’t important here, nor is it the name of something, or title. Reading it the way the author has written it, being black is clearly the most glaring part of these side characters. I think maybe ONE time she writes, “is a white guy who…” but why isn’t the W in white capitalized, is it because it’s not important? I don’t know. Either way, I just couldn’t get past this. I haven’t run into an issue like this before in any other books I’ve read and honestly it’s kind of leaving me with a weird taste in my mouth. I probably won’t be reading any more books from this author.

goldenxo

1.0 out of 5 stars Could’ve been good, it just wasn’t.
Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

I am really disgusted with how much money I wasted on this book.

It could’ve been good, it really could’ve been. It just wasn’t.

The plot was OKAY at best, and often times unbelievable. Hades believed he was feared by all his people for NO reason, and the ending, with Zeus? Ridiculous. It made no sense at all and was completely infuriating.

On top of all this, the author seemed obsessed with race, needing to identify every person by the color of their skin before anything else. A white man appeared. A black woman entered. A white woman smiled. A black man laughed. Oh, and to top it off, black was always capitalized, while no other race was. If we’re turning race into a proper noun, then ALL races should be considered as such.

The writing wasn’t the worst, but struggled at several parts, often lazily repeating descriptors that the author seemed overly fond of.

I have no idea what the hype for this book was about. The sex scenes weren’t even that great? Yeah. I just really don’t get it.

Waste of money, and disgustingly overpriced to top it off. I wouldn’t spend $1 on this.

Sweet Red Reader

5.0 out of 5 stars I now want to devour all things Persephones and Hades!
Reviewed in the United States on June 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

The fact that Katee Robert was able to write two very different Hades stories and have them both be wildly entertaining is talent in and of itself! I now want to devour all things Persephones and Hades and I’m so excited for the rest of the Dark Olympus series. Neon Gods is HAWT (though I would expect nothing less from Mrs. Robert), the world and its politics are intriguing, and who would’ve thought a softie Dom of a Hades would be utter catnip! While I absolutely love this book and devoured it in a day, I do feel like after such delicious tension was built leading up to the ultimate showdown – when we actually got to the climax, it peaked and resolved rather quickly (and a bit too easily). That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed listening to and reading Neon Gods (the narrators are superb as well) and can’t wait for the rest of the series. 4.5 out of 5 wine glasses.

Elizabeth Trent

5.0 out of 5 stars A Hades and Persephone Retelling Like No Other!
Reviewed in the United States on June 5, 2021

Verified Purchase

FIVE STARS. I loved it. I loved it so much. I’m absolute Hades trash and Neon Gods did not disappoint.

Persephone, dutiful daughter of Demeter, has always been intrigued by the myth of Hades, the fabled final member to the mighty 13 that rule Olympus. When her mother announces she is to wed Zeus, whose ruthless reputation includes the mysterious death of his previous three wives, Persephone flees across the River Styx, where she soon learns Hades is no more myth than she is. To get back at her mom and Zeus for attempting to force her hand, Persephone partners with Hades on a plan that fans the flames of revenge and desire.

*cue TikTok audio saying “it has all the ingredients you need”:
Dual POV
Steamy Scenes
A Headstrong and Self-Assured Heroine
A Consent King
A Playroom Complete with Safeword
Strong Communication
Rooftop Gardens
PUPPIES

As I read, I was stuck between wanting Hades and Persephone’s story to wrap up with a neat bow but also being completely willing to wait years for Dark Olympus 2-3 feat. my favorite duo. Alas, the future books appear to star different characters. But fear not! I will absolutely be reading.

Neon Gods is a great read for fans of A Touch of Darkness, Fifty Shades of Grey, and The Boys.

Get A Copy of Neon Gods pdf or Paperback by Katee Robert

You can get a copy of Neon Gods pdf or Paperback by Katee Robert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.