A Very English Murder Pdf Summary Reviews By Verity Bright

A Very English Murder Pdf is a Cozy Mystery Historical Fiction novel By Verity Bright. If you enjoy witty dialogue, glamorous intrigue, and the very best of golden age mysteries, then you will adore Verity Bright’s unputdownable whodunnit, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, TE Kinsey and Downton Abbey!

A Very English Murder Summary

England, 1920. Eleanor Swift has spent the last few years travelling the world: taking tea in China, tasting alligators in Peru, escaping bandits in Persia and she has just arrived in England after a chaotic forty-five-day flight from South Africa. Chipstone is about the sleepiest town you could have the misfortune to meet. And to add to these indignities – she’s now a Lady.

Lady Eleanor, as she would prefer not to be known, reluctantly returns to her uncle’s home, Henley Hall. Now Lord Henley is gone, she is the owner of the cold and musty manor. What’s a girl to do? Well, befriend the household dog, Gladstone, for a start, and head straight out for a walk in the English countryside, even though a storm is brewing…

But then, from the edge of a quarry, through the driving rain, Eleanor is shocked to see a man shot and killed in the distance. Before she can climb down to the spot, the villain is gone and the body has vanished. With no victim and the local police convinced she’s stirring up trouble, Eleanor vows to solve this affair by herself. And when her brakes are mysteriously cut, one thing seems sure: someone in this quiet country town has Lady Eleanor Swift in their murderous sights…

READ

About Verity Bright Author Of A Very English Murder Pdf Book

Verity Bright
Verity Bright

Verity Bright Author Of A Very English Murder is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

A Very English Murder pdf, Paperback, Hardcover Book Information

A Very English Murder Pdf
A Very English Murder Pdf
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bookouture (April 3, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 300 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1838886184
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1838886189
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.06 x 0.75 x 7.81 inches
  • Best Sellers Rank: #125,811 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • #1,076 in 20th Century Historical Romance (Books)
  • #1,487 in Cozy Craft & Hobby Mysteries
  • #1,598 in Cozy Culinary Mysteries
  • Customer Reviews: 4.2 out of 5 stars    4,264 ratings

A Very English Murder Book Reviews (Amazon.com)

Angelica Holmes

5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 rounded to 5
Reviewed in the United States on August 16, 2022

Verified Purchase

A Very English Munder is the first in Lady Elanor Swift Mystery Series by Verity Bright.
Eleanor Swift is a women who doesn’t believe that women are inferior to men. To prove it she traveled the world trudging through the desert, climbing mountains, and wading through jungles. That is until she is informed of her uncle’s passing. She then returns home to take up residence in the Manor, where she meets Gladstone. Gladstone was her Uncle’s bulldog and faithful companion. Her and Gladstone are inseparable at first sight.
But alas tragedy strikes when she witnesses a murder, and no one believes her. It’s up to her to collect the evidence and bring the Killer to justice, however that’s easier said than done.

This book is so absolutely charming. The Characters, especially Eleanor, have such entertaining and distinct personalities. Their interactions are just fantastic. The plot is quite enticing as well, keeping you wanting more. My only “complaint” is that it’s a little dry in a couple of places. Nothing terrible just slows the pacing down some. Overall it is definitely worth readingand I’m glad I took a chance on this author/book. I recommend to anyone who is a fan of Agatha Christie and the cozy mystery genre.

C. Malito

5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable
Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2022

Verified Purchase

If you’re looking for a serious, deep mystery, this isn’t it. However, if you’re wanting a easy read on a rainy afternoon or a cold evening by the fire, A Very English Murder is exactly what you need. Eleanor, Lady Swift, has inherited her uncle’s estate as well as his delight in problem solving. A thoroughly modern 1920 young woman, she comes home, witnesses a murder, and determined to solve it with or without police help. You’ll love the camaraderie between her, her butler Clifford, and the rest of her staff as they acclimate themselves to this new life.

Kindle Customer

4.0 out of 5 stars Fun (and funny) cozy
Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2022

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed Lady Swift’s character and her use of language–she is both well-spoken and funny. Nice surrounding cast of characters and hints about interesting back stories that I expect will be explored in subsequent entries in the series. Bravo!

Kindle Customer

4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you can put up with an overbearing leading lady for about 6 Chapters
Reviewed in the United States on May 19, 2022

Verified Purchase

At first, I wasn’t sure how to rate this book. I SOO very much disliked the heroine, Lady Eleanor, in the first 1/4 of this book. I really detest rude, arrogant, self-centered, bossy characters, who think they are always right (when they haven’t a clue what they’re talking about), and who blunder & leap into stupid things without thought. Lady Eleanor was all this & more. She was horrid, stupid & flakey … I couldn’t imagine enduring “her” for a whole book… I considered not reading any more. I mean, life’s too short to inflict that kind of abuse on myself voluntarily.

But I continued on reading a bit further and I’m glad I did. The book improved as the relationship between Lady Eleanor and her butler Clifford developed. This is not a humorous, laugh-out-loud type of book; it’s humor is very droll & dry … but I ended up enjoying it very much and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys cozy mysteries from this era.

Get a Copy of A Very English Murder Pdf or Paperback By Verity Bright

You can get A Copy of A Very English Murder Pdf or Paperback By Verity Bright from these online stores below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.