The Rules Do Not Apply Pdf Summary Reviews By Ariel Levy

The Rules Do Not Apply Pdf Summary

The Rules Do Not Apply Pdf book is a gorgeous, darkly humorous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention—for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion

When thirty-eight-year-old New Yorker writer Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true.

Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules—about work, about love, and about womanhood.

“I wanted what we all want: everything. We want a mate who feels like family and a lover who is exotic, surprising. We want to be youthful adventurers and middle-aged mothers. We want intimacy and autonomy, safety and stimulation, reassurance and novelty, coziness and thrills. But we can’t have it all.”

In this profound and beautiful memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being “a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses.” Her own story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed—and of what is eternal.

READ

The Rules Do Not Apply Review

Watch The Rules Do Not Apply pdf book review

The Rules Do Not Apply book Review

About Ariel Levy Author Of The Rules Do Not Apply Pdf Book

Ariel Levy Author Of The Rules Do Not Apply
Ariel Levy

Ariel Levy Author Of The Rules Do Not Apply Pdf Book is a staff writer at The New Yorker magazine, where she has written about the swimmer Diana Nyad, the Supreme Court plaintiff Edith Windsor, the former Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi, and the drug ayahuasca. She was the editor of The Best American Essays 2015. Her personal story “Thanksgiving in Mongolia” won a National Magazine Award for Essays and Criticism and is the basis for her book, The Rules Do Not Apply.

Her work has appeared in The Washington Post, The New Yorker, Vogue, Slate, Men’s Journal and Blender. Levy was named one of the “Forty Under 40” most influential out individuals in the June/July 2009 issue of The Advocate.

The Rules Do Not Apply pdf, Paperback, Hardcover Book Information

The Rules Do Not Apply pdf
The Rules Do Not Apply pdf
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Random House (March 14, 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 224 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0812996933
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0812996937
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 13.6 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.92 x 0.93 x 8.57 inches
  • Best Sellers Rank: #476,016 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • #682 in LGBTQ+ Demographic Studies
  • #1,648 in Love & Loss
  • #20,263 in Memoirs (Books)
  • Customer Reviews: 4.1 out of 5 stars    789 ratings

Get A Copy of The Rules Do Not Apply pdf or Paperback by Ariel Levy

You can use any of the links below to get a copy of The Rules Do Not Apply pdf or Paperback by Ariel Levy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.