The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea pdf Summary Reviews by Axie Oh

The Girl who fell beneath the sea pdf book is a fantasy fiction novel by Axie oh. Axie Oh’s The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale “The Tale of Shim Cheong,” perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.

The Girl who fell Beneath the sea Summary

Deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s homeland for generations. Floods sweep away entire villages, while bloody wars are waged over the few remaining resources. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curses them with death and despair. In an attempt to appease him, each year a beautiful maiden is thrown into the sea to serve as the Sea God’s bride, in the hopes that one day the “true bride” will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe that Shim Cheong, the most beautiful girl in the village―and the beloved of Mina’s older brother Joon―may be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is to be sacrificed, Joon follows Cheong out to sea, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong’s stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina seeks out the Sea God, only to find him caught in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man named Shin―as well as a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits―Mina sets out to wake the Sea God and bring an end to the killer storms once and for all.

But she doesn’t have much time: A human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking…

The Girl who fell beneath the sea by Axie Oh Review

Read

About Axie Oh Author of The Girl who Fell Beneath the Sea pdf Book

Axie Oh
Axie Oh

Axie Oh author of The Girl who fell Beneath the sea pdf Book is a first-generation Korean American, born in New York City and raised in New Jersey. She studied Korean history and creative writing as an undergrad at the University of California San Diego and holds an MFA in Writing for Young People from Lesley University. Her passions include K-pop, anime, stationery supplies, and milk tea, and she currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada, with her dog, Toro (named after Totoro). She is the author of multiple books for teens, including The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea. You can connect with Axie Oh on instagram at (@axieoh).

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea pdf, Paperback, Hardcover Book Information

The Girl who fell Beneath the sea pdf
The Girl who fell Beneath the sea pdf
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Feiwel & Friends (February 22, 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 336 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250780861
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250780867
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 13 – 18 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 7 – 9
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 13.6 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.8 x 1.35 x 8.55 inches
  • Best Sellers Rank: #7,322 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • #5 in Teen & Young Adult Country & Ethnic Fairy Tales & Folklore
  • #39 in Teen & Young Adult Historical Romance
  • #74 in Teen & Young Adult Paranormal Romance
  • Customer Reviews: 4.6 out of 5 stars    1,176 ratings

The Girl Who fell Beneath the Sea Reviews (Amazon.com)

Katherine

5.0 out of 5 stars Not usually a romance fan, but this book was amazing!!
Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2022

Verified Purchase

I don’t usually go for romance stories. They’re just not usually my thing. I do love studio Ghibli films though, and I adore Hayao Miyazaki’s stuff. I’d heard this book compared to some of those films, so I decided to give it a try, even though I knew it was a love story.

I INHALED this book! Seriously. I couldn’t put it down. It grabbed me by the heart and the imagination and never let go. The first chapter did have me nervous, I will admit. The action started so fast, and I had spent so little time with the main character, Mina, that I felt little emotional connection with her, and therefore struggled to feel an initial concern or investment in the opening events of the story, but… In the next chapter? Bam!

Axie Oh hooked me. First, with her absolutely glorious prose (some of her writing is downright poetic) and the beauty and vivid sensory details of a lush spirit world under the sea. Then, she quietly, subtly set a slower but deeper emotional hook as I found myself falling for the characters without even noticing it happening. I became so invested in Mina, Shin, Namgi, Kirin, Mask, Dai, and little Miki. Their personalities, their backstories, their cultures, their relationships. And the Gods themselves! Just wow wow WOW! As I said, I could not put this book down and will happily rave about it to anyone I can.

Buy this book. Read it and love it. I know I did. Thank you, Axie, for writing this a beautiful, sweet, haunting, and glorious love story. Oh, and the comparisons to Spirited Away and Ponyo are more than accurate. I hope this book gets turned into a film. I will watch the heck out of it!

Sara Conway

5.0 out of 5 stars A Gorgeous Folktale Retelling
Reviewed in the United States on April 24, 2022

Verified Purchase

I…LOVED this book.

Over the summer I read XOXO, which was such a fun and swoony story. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea keeps some of the elements that made XOXO an addicting read (new places/experiences, family, ~romance~) but brings a different side of Axie’s writing to the forefront. It’s one of those stories that captivate you, pulling you into a new world. I wanted to both read Girl in one day and take the time to soak in every little detail.

Girl is told from the perspective of Mina, the younger sister of the infamous Shim Cheong’s lover. I loved how Axie reinterpreted the core of the original Korean folktale by expanding the perspective of the story (aka adding Mina) but also clearly asked questions, digging deeper into the characters and their hearts. Plus, Axie wove her story with such elegance and lyricism that it was hard not to want to stay by the characters’ sides.

Retellings always appear with simple curiosities like “what if” and “why”: Why is Shim Cheong almost a myth before she is even gone? Why do Mina’s people believe that *girls* must be sacrificed to appease the Sea God and his anger? Why can’t Mina—and the others in the story—be in charge of their fate, their destiny? Why do others have a say in how they live their lives, both on earth and after death?

Mina is a protagonist that everyone needs. She’s a character is never shies away from expressing her fear, but she also understands that she’s worthy, that she’s loved, and that she’s in control of her fate, whether others try to push her into a predetermined path or not.

Katrina

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
Reviewed in the United States on July 5, 2022

Verified Purchase

I bought this book a while ago but I just got around to reading it. I really enjoyed it. I read the whole thing in probably 8 hours. I loved the imagery of the Spirit Realm and the Sea God’s city. Honestly, everything was so cleverly described that I could picture everything so clearly as I was reading. I usually hate reading description because it’s long and boring and tedious but everything about the description in this book was vividly described without being too much or too little. The author gave us just enough to thoroughly set the scene without over doing it. And the characters! Oh, I loved them all so much. Mina is so brave and strong, and I totally get what she means when she says her brother is the person she loves most in the world. (I feel that way about my brother though he’s younger than me.) I loved her bravery. And I loved that she was willing to do anything just to make sure her brother was happy. A lot of times that self-sacrificing nature can be detrimental to a person, but Mina never really came across as feeling hopeless. She was determined to set things right from the very beginning and so the self-sacrificing part never came across as a bad thing. I loved Kirin and Namgi and how loyal they were to Shin. And I really, really loved Shin. He just came across as an honorable guy right from the start. I can see why Mina fell for him. When I read books I usually fast read, skipping a bunch of the description and some of the character interactions because a lot of times there are things in books that aren’t really relevant to the plot or that I’m just not interested in. However, I read every single work in this book. I didn’t skip a single thing, that’s how good it was. I even found myself tearing up at a certain point, though I won’t say which one. It was just a really great scene. I will say that I saw pretty much everything coming in this book. There wasn’t any great mystery for me. Even still, I loved all the characters, and I really loved how Mina being a storyteller was useful to the plot. I found myself wishing more than once that this wasn’t just a standalone novel because the world building was so rich and I would have really enjoyed seeing more of it, especially through some of the other characters eyes, or even more from Shin and Mina. The only thing I would have liked more of, I think, is to Shin and Mina interact more from a relationship standpoint. I am an adult though, and this is a book written for teens, so I don’t really think it hurt the story at all or made it less poignant. It is 1000% just a personal opinion.

TL/DR: Really great story. Fabulous world buildings, engaging characters. Would definitely recommend.

Rain

5.0 out of 5 stars Like Gaiman crossed with Miyazaki
Reviewed in the United States on February 26, 2022

Verified Purchase

This is such a gorgeous story that I couldn’t put it down. I was drawn in by strong characters and a luscious, beautifully described world, fantastic and otherworldly. If you like myths, you will love this book. If you like stories like Gaiman’s Neverwhere or The Graveyard Book, then you will love this book. If you like Miyazaki films, like Spirited Away, you will love this book. Highly recommended.

Get A copy of The Girl who fell Beneath the sea pdf or Paperback by Axie Oh

You can get a copy of The Girl who fell the Beneath the sea pdf or paperback by Axie oh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.